2001-08-07

It is about time!

I have been so busy. The first weekend of my vacation was not a vacation at all. Big C's mom, and niece, and brother, and cousin came to stay with us. We do not have a large house. There were sleeping bodies everywhere. It was really nice to have them all here but it was also really nice when they went home. I had a seat on the couch again!

His mom is the bargain-hunting-queen. We went garage saling for hours and hours and hours on Saturday. I bought an old, solid oak, teachers desk. The one I have is a shitty, tiny, pressboard number. I paid a hundred bucks for it a year ago and it is made for computing and not for studying. So when I do study on it I have five books spread out on the floor becasue they don't fit on my desk. But, now I have a ginormous beauty that has magic locking drawers, tons of storage and a llooonnnngggg history. And all for $50. The guy bought a year ago for $250. Go me! Today I sanded it and put my first coat of stain on it. It looks a million times better and my house is full of sanding dust. My fingers are sticky because one of my gloves broke while I was staining it. Don't tell Big C though because he would kill me if he knew that I was getting the key board sticky. I am so rotten.

Then on Sunday we went to Value Village, our local thrift superstore, for hours and hours and hours. I got a great sweater and a great vest. I really love his mom. She's like three feet tall, and has long, long hair. She's the stereotypical little Native Elder woman. She is fabulous.

I feel like I have nothing to say. Now that my studying is done I have nothing to bitch about. I got 97% on my point location exam. I had to stand in front of my whole class and locate points on a model while I explained how to find them in anatomically corect terms. My voice was shaking but I guess I did pretty well finding. My other two exams sucked ass huge time. I didn't do very well at all but I don't care because I'm on vacation. I have showers and stagettes and camping trips and furniture refinishing to worry about.

Yup. That's about all.

10:32 p.m. |

< previous | next >