2001-07-25

I'm really struggling here. I am trying to study.

I am trying to study but I feel nauseous, and tired, and unmotivated. I am distracted and want to throw my books at the wall.

My first exam is one week today. I have a lot to learn.

I need to learn about 100 acupuncture points. Which really isn't many considering that there are about 365 that are commonly used. But 100 is a lot for me.

I have to learn their exact location. Their function and which specific group they belong to.

This may not seem hard but it is, for me anyways. First off the point names are in Chinese. Sometimes they can sound similar, surprising heh? There is Nei Guan and Nei Ting, Yang ling quan and Yin ling quan. Jie xi, Xia xi (which are pronounced the same). Two points both named Fu Tu. Zu lin qi and Qi quan zi. There is twelve meridians that they belong on so I need to remember where they are, their name, what they do and what effin' meridian they are on.

And the functions.....let me tell you about the functions. It is not like "headache". It's like clears excess heat from the stomach, resolves the exterior and disperses wind. And there are 100 variations of this that belong to each point. My brain doesn't have a filing system this big.

I'm just finishing my third meridian. I have nine more to go. I don't want to.

Then I have Anatomy. I haven't even looked at my Anatomy books this semester. I have just gone to class and sat there where all the information flew over my head and out the window.

I'm feeling like I don't have enough time left. Last I looked I had two weeks. Now I only have one. Today, tomorrow and Friday are my best study days. Then next tuesday. Other times my family and pets are running circles around me and I can't get anything done.

Argh.

I have never studied this much in my whole life. My teachers always told me I could do well if I "applied myself". Well, I don't like applying myself.

11:15 a.m. |

< previous | next >