2001-08-25

I swear Ani wrote this song for me at this time in my life.

She went over to his apartment

clutching her decision.

And he said did you come here to tell me goodbye?

So she built a skyscraper of procrastion.

And then she leaned out the 25th floor window of her reply.

And she felt like an actress just reading her lines when finally she said "yes it's really good bye this time".

Far below was the blacktop and the tiny toy cars.

And it all fell so fast and it all fell so far.

She said you are a miracle but that is not all.

You are also a stiff drink and I am on call.

You are a party and I am a school night.

And I'm looking for my door key but you are my porch light.

And you know you'll never know dear just how much I loved you. You probably think this was just my big excuse.

But I stand committed to a love that came before you.

And the fact that I adore you is but one of my truths.

What about the mother whose house is in flames and both of her children are in their beds crying.

She loves them both with the whole of her heart but she knows she can only carry one a time.

She is choking on the smoke of unthinkable choices.

And she is haunted by the voices of so many desires.

And she is bent over from the business of begging forgiveness while franticly running round putting

out fires.

But then what kind of scale compares the weight of two beauties, the gravity of duties, or the ground speed of joy?

Tell me what kind of gage can quantify elation? W

hat kind of equation could I possibly employ?

You'll never know dear just how much I loved you.

You'll probably think this was just my big excuse.

But I stand committed to a love that came before you and the fact that I adore you is just one of my truths.

Try to tell me she is not a genius with words, the queen of the metaphor. Sigh. If you haven't heard School Night, go now, download it and then think of me.......

5:03 p.m. |

< previous | next >